MCA Logo - Home

MCA Awards


—Judging process and criteria

The MCA Awards are assessed by an independent judging panel, with a wealth of experience and expertise, spanning a full spectrum of business areas. Firms and individuals are judged on the value they created. Our two-stage judging process ensures that only the best can win.

After the entry deadline on 2 November 2012, each entry is checked to ensure compliance with our entry criteria. Then, for each of the 19 award categories, up to five entries are shortlisted by our shortlisting judges, scoring each entry against the judging criteria.

• Download the judging criteria

Entering firms will be contacted via their entry coordinator in the week of 7 January 2013 to let them know if their entries have been shortlisted. The full shortlist will be externally published in the week of 14 January 2013.

Panel interviews
Each shortlisted entry is scored again by the panel judges against the judging criteria. Shortlisted firms and candidates are asked to attend a 20-25 minute interview on 24, 25, 28, 31 January or 1 February 2013.

We can now confirm the judging dates for each of the categories:

Thursday 24 January

  • Performance Improvement in the Public Sector
  • Customer Engagement
  • Best New Consultancy

Friday 25 January

  • Strategy
  • Finance and Risk Management
  • Commercial Excellence

Monday 28 January

  • Change Management in the Public Sector
  • International
  • Change Management in the Private Sector
  • Performance Improvement in the Private Sector

Thursday 31 January

  • Change Management Consultant of the Year
  • Human Resources Consultant of the Year
  • Performance Improvement Consultant of the Year
  • Strategy Consultant of the Year
  • Technology Consultant of the Year
  • Young Consultant of the Year

Friday 1 February

  • Innovation
  • Technology
  • Social and Environmental Value
  • People

For individual awards the shortlisted consultant must attend the interview in person.
The interviews allow applicants to communicate their entries directly to the judges, who in turn are able to ask questions they have after reading the written submissions, allowing them to more deeply assess who should win.

Winners are announced at the MCA Awards Dinner, held in Central London in April 2013. The dinner is a black tie event held in a top London venue, with over 500 guests attending. Tickets go on sale in January 2013.