Follow Us:

Home The Role of the MCA Chartered Management Consultant Award

Chartered Management Consultant Award

What is the Chartered Management Consultant Award?

The Chartered Management Consultant (ChMC) Award is the highest recognition of a management consultant’s expertise, experience and talent given within the profession. It has been developed to set and maintain the highest standards in management consulting and to reward consistent, high levels of professional competence and achievement.

It enables individuals to develop and be recognised and helps firms who offer a path to it attract and retain the best talent. A competitive advantage for both. In conjunction with the Chartered Management Institute (CMI), the award was created and developed over a two-year period by a selected group of leading consultancies and now, for the first time, presents a recognised standard of career excellence for management consultants to aspire to, and for clients to measure against.

Why become a Chartered Management Consultant

The ChMC Award is a professional benchmark of a consultant’s abilities. It offers many benefits:

  • Chartered is proof of a proven professional track record of quality delivery by a consultant.
  • ChMC assures clients that they will receive the highest standards from the firms and consultants they engage.
  • It demonstrates that firms work to high standards and are committed to the development of their staff. That attracts clients and attracts and retains the best talent.
  • It develops the talent of the new, acknowledges and hones the skills of the established and recognises the expertise of the experienced.
  • It establishes a hallmark of quality appreciated and embraced by those within and out of the industry.

Since its launch more than 500 consultants have been awarded Chartered status, 1,500 are on the journey, 23 MCA member firms are engaged and more than 40 MCA members are progressing in 2021 alone.

The aim of the MCA is to secure greater recognition of the professionalism of management consulting, to ensure that it is valued and respected by the industry and by clients seeking the best and most qualified consulting support. With strong government endorsement, an increasing number of firms and clients are signing up to ChMC every day.

If you are interested in becoming a Chartered Management Consultant, please contact:

top line

Building a Profession That Clients Can Trust

The ChMC award gives clients assurance of the quality of service, adding credibility and value to the Management Consultancy profession for customers. ChMC ensures clients are getting the right level of competence, integrity, and expertise when they ask for chartered consultants.


“Professional accreditation is a real underpinning for any industry. An accreditation like this is good for the profession as a whole because it lifts the level of everyone. We hope to see all firms offering people who join them a route to this accreditation.”

Gareth Rhys Williams, Government Chief Commercial Officer




“The launch of ChMC qualification marks an important step in recognising professionalism and quality in the management consulting sector.”

Bruce Carnegie-Brown, Chairman of Lloyds of London



“Joining a community of consultants that have either achieved their award or are in the process of achieving, demonstrates you are setting the standard for the industry. You will also bring along with you a wealth of knowledge, experience and a higher degree of delivery to any organisation or client. Being part of this elite community ensures you are operating with best practice, industry knowledge and commitment. All these things are incredibly valuable to an organisation and is an acceleration of one’s own career path.”

Bev Thaker-Fell, Director of Procurement at Barclays

ChMC Competency Framework

Central to maintaining the highest standards in the management consulting profession is the Award’s Competency Framework. The Framework is the central reference point upon which the Award’s pathways and methods of assessment are based. The management consulting profession can be best characterised at three levels, the profession itself, the organisations in which management consultants operate and individual management consultants themselves.

The Competency Framework’s four main components are applied across these categories: Values, Ethics and Behaviours, Leadership and Management, Client Operating Environment and Personal and Professional Development.

Understand the Key Criteria and Application Process Before You Apply


To achieve the award of ChMC :

  • Management consultants must have 5 years experience.
  • Provide evidence of ongoing Continuing Professional Development (CPD).
  • Have a portfolio of evidence with testimonials from managers and clients.

Your portfolio will be evaluated alongside your application.

Consultancy Firms

For an in-house training programme to be accredited it must demonstrate the following:

The firm covers the expected five years’ development of a management consultant, from the foundation stage, through the applied stages, to Chartered level and demonstrate all the Chartered level competencies.

Become a Chartered Management Consultant

Please complete the participation form below to register your interest.

Next Steps: We will forward a draft agreement containing the terms and conditions for the Chartered Management Consultant Award. Once signed, we will agree a timetable for the accreditation process.