MCA Awards 2013 – shortlist announced

Projects and consultants from 30 separate management consulting firms feature in the shortlist for this year’s MCA Awards. Topping the lists for most shortlisted project and individual categories are PwC with 12, Ernst & Young with seven, and Deloitte with seven. Competing against established global consultancies are many of the UK’s top specialist and smaller consultancies.

The shortlist includes some exciting new categories for both consulting projects and outstanding individual consultants. These include two new project categories for Commercial Excellence and Social and Environmental Value, and two individual awards for Young Consultant of the Year and Consultant of the Year. In addition, the MCA has this year created an award for the Best New Consultancy Firm.

Alan Leaman, CEO of the MCA, commented:

“Following a record level of entries, this year’s MCA Awards shortlist illustrates the wide range of consultancy and individual expertise – whose quality of work has been recognised for delivering value to organisations on both a domestic and global scale. Our expert panel of judges will assess each entry shortly, and we looking forward to showcasing all of the projects at our awards dinners in April.”


The MCA Awards shortlist is as follows:

Best New Consultancy
Private Public

Change Management in the Private Sector (sponsored by BLT)
Boxwood with Tube Lines
Challenge Consulting with Hitachi Capital UK
LCP Consulting with Harrods UK
Moorhouse with British Airways
PwC with Adecco

Change Management in the Public Sector
Atos with Staffordshire CSU
Capita with Birmingham City Council
Ernst & Young with HM Treasury
Hay Group with Anglesey Council
Maxxim Consulting with University of Northampton

Commercial Excellence
Accenture with Microsoft
Efficio Consulting with Thames Water
KPMG with Jaguar Landrover
PwC with BBC                                                                                                       

Customer Engagement
Deloitte with Canon Europe
iMPOWER with Buckinghamshire, Staffordshire and Hertfordshire County Councils
KPMG with RBS/NatWest
NTT Data with Orange

Finance and Risk Management
Ernst & Young with Credit Suisse
Hudson & Yorke with Zurich Insurance Group

IBM with Essex County Council
Private Public with NESTA
Trinity Horne with Yorkshire Water

Arup with PRASA
Deloitte with HR Development Fund
Elix-IRR with Standard Bank
Mott MacDonald with Pop Up Foundation

Deloitte with BP
McKinney Rogers with Walmart Stores US
PwC with Direct Line Group
PwC with National Apprenticeship Service
Trinity Horne with Welsh Water

Performance Improvement in the Private Sector (sponsored by Mindbench)
CSC with Selex Galileo
Ernst & Young with Willis Group
Navigant with Nationwide
PwC with Bombardier Transportation UK
North Highland with Allen & Overy

Performance Improvement in the Public Sector
Accenture with HMRC
Capita with States of Guernsey
KPMG with West Midlands Police
Mott MacDonald with North Ayrshire Council

Social and Environmental Value
Atos with Home Office (Hillsborough)
CSC with Future for Youth Foundation
PwC with Department for Education
PwC with Puma
Trinity Horne with Welsh Water

Deloitte with Facebook
Elix-IRR with Standard Bank
Kepner-Tregoe with DAL Group
PwC with Vodafone, Telefonica UK, Everything Everywhere

Arup with National Air Traffic Control
Atos with Olympics 2012
Ernst & Young with UK Border Agency
KPMG with Jaguar Landrover


Individual categories

Change Management Consultant of the Year
Edward Pinkard, Capita
Umang Patel, CSC
Sayeh Ghanbari, Ernst & Young
Ewan Cameron, Moorhouse
Tracey Gribben, PwC

HR Consultant of the Year
Mark Bowden, Deloitte
Rohan De Rozario, Ernst & Young
Paritosh Singh, IBM

Performance Improvement Consultant of the Year
Jonathan D’Souza, Accenture
Lasse Lund, Deloitte
James Bowman, PwC
Paul Deegan, PwC

Strategy Consultant of the Year
Fred Jones, Accenture
Ed Temple, Capita
Paul Le, CSC
Yunus Ozler, Ernst & Young

Technology Consultant of the Year
Stephen Cameron, BearingPoint
Guy Lucchi, CSC
Matt Phipps-Taylor, Deloitte

Young Consultant of the Year
Matt Peirce, BearingPoint
Aimi Hayman, Capita
Joanna Sarno-Hancock, Capita
Phil Humber, CSC
Alison Kay, Moorhouse
Rebecca Lloyd, PwC

Winners for each category will be announced at the Awards Dinner, held at the Hilton Hotel, Park Lane, London on 18 April 2013. All the awards are judged by an independent expert panel of judges with experience of working in the private and public sectors, universities, consultancy and journalism.

Full details on the MCA Awards 2013 are available via


For more information, please contact:
David Pippett
DWP Public Relations
Tel: 01225 459676 / Mobile: 07899 798197

About the Management Consultancies Association
The Management Consultancies Association (MCA) is the representative body for management consultancy firms in the UK. Our sixty member companies comprise around 70% of the UK consulting industry, estimated to be worth £9bn in 2008, employ more than 40,000 consultants and work with over 90 of the top FTSE 100 companies and almost all parts of the public sector.

The MCA’s tough entry criteria and rigorous Code of Practice mean that MCA member companies are widely acknowledged to provide high quality services to their clients. Many of their achievements are recognised in the annual MCA Management Awards and the Consultant of the Year Awards.

The MCA informs and influences public debate on topical issues, and provides authoritative data on the industry. It commissions research and policy analysis and represents the industry in discussions with Government and other stakeholders. The MCA also facilitates networking and the sharing of best practice within the industry through events, publications and initiatives such as the Young MCA.