MCA Awards 2011: shortlist announced

The Management Consultancies Association (MCA) is one step closer to finding Britain’s top consulting firms and can now reveal the names of the shortlisted consultancies for the MCA Awards 2011. The MCA Awards, which combine the MCA Management Awards and MCA Consultant of the Year Awards recognise the very best consultants and consultancy/client teams, all of whom have delivered truly outstanding results and demonstrated how the UK consulting industry is a positive force for the economy.  

Entries for the nineteen award categories are drawn up in partnership with clients and judged by a panel of senior figures from business, public sector organisations, business schools and journalism.
Alan Leaman, Chief Executive of the MCA said:
“These awards recognise the top performers in the British consulting industry.  UK consulting is a world leader and firms which sign up to the MCA’s Code of Practice put high standards and clients’ interests first. The standard of entries was extremely high and all displayed outstanding consulting skills. Our congratulations go to the excellent consultancies that have been shortlisted.”
The winners will be announced at the MCA Awards Dinner to be held on 7 April 2011 at the prestigious Lancaster London Hotel and will be featured in a special supplement in The Times in April 2011. To book places visit
For further information on the awards visit or contact Stephanie Mitchell on 020 7321 3995 or
Sponsorship opportunities exist for companies to get involved with these prestigious awards – contact James Lazarus on 020 7321 3992 or
The shortlisted firms and their clients are as follows:
Change Management in the Private Sector
  • Boxwood with The Carphone Warehouse
  • Deloitte with C&C Group
  • Ernst & Young with the National Grid
  • Hay Group with Botanix
Change Management in the Public Sector – sponsored by BLT
  • Deloitte with NHS
  • Ernst & Young with NHS Direct
  • PA Consulting with the Ministry of Defence
  • Sequena and AMTEC Consulting with IPCC
Customer Engagement
  • Customer Plus with Ford
  • Ernst & Young with Tata Steel Europe
  • Navigant Consulting with Skandia
  • Propaganda with Boost Drinks
  • Accenture with UN Global Compact
  • Arup with De Montfort University
  • IBM with Energy Technologies Institute
  • PricewaterhouseCoopers with Coca Cola Enterprises
Finance and Risk Management
  • Accenture with Barclays
  • CSC with BAE Systems
  • Novo Altum with Northern Rock
  • PricewaterhouseCoopers with the Ministry of Justice
  • Bluerock Consulting with Barclaycard
  • CSC with Scottish Widows
  • Mouchel with Lincolnshire County Council
  • Tribal with the Department for Education
  • Ashridge Consulting with UNAIDS
  • Moorhouse Consulting with BT
  • PricewaterhouseCoopers with Kosovo Ministry for Energy and Mining
Operational Performance in the Private Sector – sponsored by Mindbench
  • Arup with Nexus
  • Bearingpoint with Vaultex
  • Boxwood with Trader Media Group
  • Deloitte with Aviva
  • Trinity Horne with Virgin Media
Operational Performance in the Public Sector
  • AMTEC Consulting and Sequena with IPCC
  • Atkins Global with Department for Education
  • IBM with Animal Health
  • KPMG and Deloitte with HMRC
  • Alsbridge with King’s College Hospital
  • Ernst & Young with the National Grid
  • Arup with the NHS East of England Health Authority
  • Ashridge Consulting with National Trust
  • Deloitte with Shell
  • Navigant Consulting with Skandia
Strategy – sponsored by Investigo
  • Accenture with Depaul UK
  • Corpra with Publishing Business
  • KPMG with Philip Morris International
  • PricewaterhouseCoopers with Coca Cola Enterprises
  • Xantus Consulting with United Utilities
  • Deloitte with Metrobank
  • Detica with Transport for London
  • Ernst & Young with NHS Direct
  • PricewaterhouseCoopers with Lehman Brothers in Administration
  • Xantus Consulting with United Utilities
Change Management Consultant of the Year
  • Alistair Cromwell, KPMG
  • Caroline Smith, Deloitte
  • Juliet Fowler, IBM
  • Oliver Fusil, Accenture
HR Consultant of the Year
  • Chris Jones, IBM
  • Robert Bolton, KPMG
  • Shaun Scantlebury, Tribal
IT Consultant of the Year
  • Bhavish Madurai, CSC
  • James Cockroft, Xantus Consulting
  • John Wilson-Beales, Deloitte
  • Shormi Bhattachayra, TATA Consultancy Services
  • Simon Holmes, KPMG
Marketing Consultant of the Year
  • Nick Turner, Deloitte
  • Richard Beevers, Customer Plus
  • Roddy Thomson, Ernst & Young
Performance Improvement Consultant of the Year
  • George Simpson, CSC
  • Melinda McKinley, Deloitte
  • Udyan Patel, BearingPoint
  • Vicky Whelan, Ernst & Young
Strategy Consultant of the Year
  • Andrew Nevin, PricewaterhouseCoopers
  • Dimah Roddick, Deloitte
  • James Collins, Accenture
  • Ron Brown, CSC
  • Sarah Owen-Vandersluis, KPMG